International Women’s Day Reflection

As International Women’s Day draws to a close, I again find words difficult to come by.  I spent the day teaching (or perhaps attempting to teach) seven women how to sew. I am well aware that for some that International Women’s Day is not about celebrating or perhaps even teaching what might be considered as a domestic skill.  It might be seen as perpetuating stereotypes and in some ways I agree, however there’s more to this story.

In my experience (and I can only share from my experience), the Philippines still has very clearly defined male and female roles. It challenges me every day. I’ve had to bite my tongue on several occasions and sometimes I haven’t been terribly successful. I been asked, who am I, if I’m not a religious sister or I’m not married, as if these were the only two possibilities and I’m not anyone if I don’t fit into these categories. I was respectful in my reply however, I hope that those who asked me, would think twice about asking the same question of me or any other woman in the future.

I am an educated woman and I could respond to this question knowing that it wasn’t appropriate or acceptable.  The women I spent the day with are on the whole not educated.  So how could they have answered the same question?  They are in many ways at the mercy of their surroundings and definitely of their level of education. I’ve been working with this community long enough to know that so often they aren’t even consulted in decisions.  I recall some feedback from an online session that we did, where some said, that they’ve never been asked for an opinion before, when I asked them what they thought of something. Knowledge is power and when you don’t have knowledge you are often at the mercy of others who will use power over you. 

The only power that these women deserve is empowerment.  So in a small way today, progress was made.  Sewing might not change the world, but is a small way it might change some of these women’s world.  By acquiring a skill, they may be empowered to earn some income, which in turn will help their children, especially their girls and to change their world.  Will they become amazing seamstresses, possibly not?  But if you could have seen the faces of these women who clapped their hands in excitement before they even sewed a stitch, you too, could see that this was a perfect way to celebrate International Women’s Day. 

Note: On days like to today, I am reminded that I am so blessed and privileged even though I don’t always acknowledge it.  I am also acutely aware that even in my own country equality is far from being achieved.